Almond finishing

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zaxsta

I'm pretty new to this, but I have a nice almond wood slab that I'm turning into a coffee table. Sorry if this is a bit off topic, but I basically want to achieve a nice, penetrative, high gloss finish on the table (it's a live edge slab) that wouldn't be dissimilar from a hardwood floor finish. I've read many, many articles on the subject and I'm quite lost - should I use a polymerized tung oil, or a polyurethane varnish? Shellac, perhaps? How fine should I sand the piece? I've done sandings at 120, 180, and 220 but I have no idea how far up I should go - I don't really want to sand out 10 different grains and run three or four coatings on each grain. I'm just looking for someone to help me set the boundaries a bit.

It's a 1700 on the janka hardness scale, in case anyone is wondering, and has beautiful gold and faint purple colors running throughout. If someone could give me some basic guidance for a high gloss finish that would really demonstrate the beauty of the grain, I'd appreciate it. Treat the question like I'd be doing hardwood floors with almond wood.

I assume that this slab is full of knots like most almond? Just make sure that the knots will stay tight before you put a lot of work into it. And you really need to get a meter and check moisture content. Almond tends to hold a lot of moisture for a long time. If it was me, I would use poly. I don't really care for tung oil, but that is just a personal thing.

It is not full of knots; in fact, there are barely any. Haven't heard that almond is full of those. I have heard, however, that it likes to crack, and this piece does have a small crack in it that I'll fill in. As you can see, the piece doesn't really need to be shaped anymore - just sanded and finished. I think it'll hold together nicely.