Bathroom vinyl plank installation - waterproofing around bathtub, etc

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

romeroom

This is my first time posting here and my first time installing vinyl plank in a bathroom.

I've installed all the planks with 1/4 inch expansion gap around the bathroom.

My questions center around making the floor as water proof as possible.

1. What do I do around the bathtub where the tub and floor meet? There has to be a practical way to prevent water from getting to the sub-floor through the 1/4 inching expansion gap next to the tub.

2. How about the rest of the bathroom? Do I treated the same as waterproofing around the tub?

I could really use your help. I have spent nearly 2 hours on YouTube and have found a number of conflicting suggestions on how to create a water tight seal while allowing for expansion. It feels like a waste of time.

Thanks in advance for your help.

I'm curious about this as well.
I was thinking silicone caulk in gaps. If it stays flexible enough it can let the floor expand & contract.

Maybe I've just had bad luck, but from my experience that sort of trim discolors & peels off over time. But, I have a lot of iron sediment in my water so everything starts to get stained from the iron. I've never used that particular trim though. Sorry I can't be of more help.

On both my houses, I butted the flooring right at the tub, but allowed expansion on the opposite site. I then ran a small bead of color match caulking against the tub to prevent water intrusion.
20131103_132946.jpg