Concrete floor question

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tylero17

Hey everyone im a first time floor installer. Im pretty handy i work hvac with a welding background so i can work around the fabricating and door jams i am sure. my problem is when i ripped up the carpet there was the very bottom of a old lolly column. its been cut fairly close to the floor and just hammered over the sharp edge. i have a hard-wheel grinder i can get the metal down real flush but the concrete around it is slighty raised im not sure i would even call it a 1/4 inch over the 8' effected diameter. the rest of the floor looks fairly well. i bought the lifeproof boards because i heard they were one of the nicer brands. so do i get that metal down with my grinder and see if the floor is not affected to bad when i get to that certain area or try to chip away at it a little? I was thinking home depot probably has some kind of mix bag you can get and self level it out but i could see myself making it worse iv never been quiet the rock mudder. thanks for the responses in advance

I had to look up a lolly column. Never heard of that before. From the sounds of what I read they're just small pads on the floor. You want to grind any of that metal so that it's flat or flush with the floor surface, and even slightly below that's okay because you probably need to smooth over it with some filler.
If the metal pads or parts of that column were in place and the concrete was pulled up to it then I think I see what you're describing.
I'd take a hammer and chisel or an air chisel and buzz out any of that concrete that's sticking up higher than the rest of the floor. That would be better than trying to put filler on the floor to feather out the high spot.