First time installing carpet

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justinmcajustin

Hey everyone! I was just wondering how hard it is to install a carpet! I have been doing hardwood floors for the past 5 years and don't know if it would be to hard to do my own carpet! I ripped it up and from what I can see it doesn't look to hard! But I kinda want some professional advice!
What do I need if I was to do it myself?

To install carpet properly, you need to start with a piece that overlaps the edge of the floor by 4 to 6 inches (10.2 to 15.2 cm). The overlay can then be trimmed so the carpet fits properly. To cut your first section, measure the room at its longest point and add 6 inches (15.2 cm) to that measurement. Mark the back of your carpet on both edges with that measurement and join the two marks with a chalk line. #Fold the carpet over on itself, and using a straight edge and a sharp utility knife, cut through the backside of your carpet. Be sure to place a piece of scrap board underneath your cut line to protect the underlying carpet

Hey everyone! I was just wondering how hard it is to install a carpet! I have been doing hardwood floors for the past 5 years and don't know if it would be to hard to do my own carpet! I ripped it up and from what I can see it doesn't look to hard! But I kinda want some professional advice!
What do I need if I was to do it myself?

You need a lot of tools to properly install carpet.