Grinding before self-leveling

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Timo

Hi,

I am new to floor work. I am going to self-level my basement concrete floor before putting Barricade subfloor tongue and groove panels and luxury vinyl on top of that. I looked at Mapei or Sika self leveler compounds and both manufacturers say to grind the floor to CSP #3 profile.

I renter Husqvara PG280 single head grinder to do the job. As I can't really tell what's CSP #3 vs #4 etc I can't definitely say whether the floor has been ground to the appropriate level of "roughness".

My question to the knowledgeable folks here is this - how crucial is it to have cement ground exactly to the level that the manufacturer of the self leveler recommends? What can potentially happen if the floor is not sufficiently ground or not ground? I am applying self-leveler across the entire surface.

THank you much in advance.

Just about any diamond head grinder will get ya to a csp-2 -3. The reasoning is they don't want you going over a really smooth surface or a surface with bond breakers on it like paint and old glue or it won't grab and could come loose . Make certain you use any primer they may recommend. All SLC's need a primer as it helps the stuff flow and won't curl at the perimeter.

Thanks, Ernesto. I included a picture of what it looks like now. Not perfect grinding but it was a pain to get it even to this point. Do you see any concerns with how it is now?

Thanks
Michael

Floor.JPG