Hardwood flooring router bits

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
What in Gods name are you talking about? Please be more specific and we may be able to better help you. Why are you using a router for anything? There's really no reason a DIYer would need any sort of router bit to do flooring.

Have you never installed an inlay? A router is required on the "groove" side of the "box" to which you are wrapping around an inlay row since you most likely will be cutting that off "square" with a circular saw removing the factory groove. I'm not a professional, but this is an easy job with a router, a good tongue-and-groove bit set, a biscuit joiner (for the mitered corners), and a few common tools.

You're not a professional but your user name is technical flooring master? Seems legit. No, a DIYer should not attempt inlays. They should hire a pro.

Sent from my HTC One using Flooring Forum mobile app

You're not a professional but your user name is technical flooring master? Seems legit. No, a DIYer should not attempt inlays. They should hire a pro.

You might be able to convince the average, "I have no skills" homeowner of this, but there is nothing complicated about making an inlay... either a pattern inlay, or a border inlay, that would require a Pro... I've seen "pros" eff up jobs worse than a DIYer, like the flooring that a "Pro" installed in the house prior to me buying it, where he only nailed down every other row, didn't bother to pull the rows and ends tight, and couldn't be bothered to square off transitions thinking that 87 degrees is "close enough"...

Or the electrician who continued connecting devices past the built in smoke detectors so without me tracing out each circuit, I would have gotten fried replacing a light switch that was now "dual powered" through the dual circuitry of the smoke detector...