How level is level?

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shangam2008

I just bought Mannington Adura Rigid planks for my basement living room area, but am getting nervous about a slight slope in the concrete leading into the kitchen. I know vinyl calls for a level surface... is this an acceptable variance or am I going to have to have someone come out and level the concrete? I really can't afford to do that... thanks for the advice, I'm a newbie and just want to be sure this will work. It's a high traffic area so will be walked on a lot everyday. If the slope is too severe, what are my options outside of self leveling?

20200705_092415.jpg

Attachments

• 20200705_090927.jpg
    20200705_090927.jpg
    93.8 KB · Views: 222
You're not really interested as much in level for this or any other flooring, such as vinyl planks like Adura. You want flat. If it becomes level in the process, that's always better.
That floor is a long, long ways from being flat or level.
Most floors, especially planks and tiled require an extremely flat floor. In your instance, and being unfamiliar with flooring, at the very least, I'd suggest a professional be hired to level and flatten the floor. Not many homeowners have a clue what they are doing in a situation like this one. To me it's obvious the floor is to unlevel for even carpeting to be installed correctly.

With the carpet and pad removed, lay something absolutely straight such as a 6 foot level on the floor. you are mainly using a level as a straight edge, not as a level.
Move and reposition the level 10 to 50 times over the areas where you plan to install the flooring. Lay the level east/ west and north/ south...... basically all over.
Hopefully under the center of that 6 foot level (straight edge) at any point, you can't slide a quarter under the level.