Jamb Saw

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Depends on if they are a fire/smoke break, or just a steel door jamb for the sake of being a steel door jamb. My favorite is when dummies come running out of the wood work to tell you not to undercut a steel door jamb because it is against "code" and neglect to realize they are hollow, have wooden hollow doors hung on them, are interior to a unit and are already off the ground and lack fire caulking.

There are a very great amount of things that people just do not question, yet they heard one thing one time and that was their gospel

I’m one of those dummies. If I lived in that world anymore I would prolly know what’s what by now but I’ve been doing strictly residential for the past 10 years and there aren’t many steel door jambs in my world. Even if I ran across one now I wouldn’t undercut it because I wouldn’t be willing to trash a decent blade for the sake of a door jamb.

They make blades for the jambs. Just a cut off wheel. I typically only break it out for tile and wood.

My ultimate favorite is when a GC will tell me I cannot undercut a door when installing tile on a commercial site. "Those are Fire Rated" he will come along and say... at which point I love to point out the lack of a threshold, no door sweep, the fact that the damn frame is already off the floor by 1/4 inch. They don't think these things through. There are door systems that are designed to be completely draft proof for smoke ingress but more often than not, it is simply the door that is rated as a fire break. This is why solid core wood and fire rated steel doors have those rating tags. No tags, no rating.