Laminate faded at seams

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

6682daniel

Hi everyone,
I’m in the process of installing Pergo Outlast laminate flooring. After installing a few rows, I started to notice that the laminate has a slight fade at the seams. Is it supposed to look like this? This is my first time doing the install so I’m not sure what it should look like. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 114E8D45-0F79-4BE3-9CBD-23EF5D35229C.jpeg
    114E8D45-0F79-4BE3-9CBD-23EF5D35229C.jpeg
    198.7 KB · Views: 245
  • 08738FDE-0ED4-4691-B1AE-A78C4C93461B.jpeg
    08738FDE-0ED4-4691-B1AE-A78C4C93461B.jpeg
    281.3 KB · Views: 229
You're just talking the end joints. It doesn't look right to me and almost looks like abrasion of some sort. Bought from a local retailer?

I agree you should quit installing and contact home Depot. In addition contact the manufacturer of the product and ask them how to proceed fixing the problem. It does look like there's a problem and it should be fixed.

I'm doing some stairs tomorrow and I think they have the same material. I'm thinking it's supposed to be there, but you either didn't notice it in the sample piece or they didn't show a view of the planks installed in a room, showing the full effect.

I'm doing some stairs tomorrow and I think they have the same material. I'm thinking it's supposed to be there, but you either didn't notice it in the sample piece or they didn't show a view of the planks installed in a room, showing the full effect.

Yeah, after some research I found out it’s an effect they have. The sample in the store doesn’t show it since it doesn’t have the ends , and neither do most of the pictures. Depending on the angle and lighting you may or may not see the effect .