New Guy with Question re Pine Flooring Install

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ALFisher

Thanks for letting me join the forum and for the great information. I looked around on the site to see if I could answer my question, but didn't come up with a clear answer. Here is my situation:

I need to install a floor at a hunting cabin. Doesn't need to be fine woodwork, but shouldn't be shoddy either. We added a nice a room (22x14) onto the existing structure. Has new knotty pine paneling and ceiling, so I would like to go in with pine flooring too. Plus, it is readily available around here (southern yellow pine). I can get a really good break on square edge pine flooring 6 inches wide.. It will go in over a 3/4 inch plywood subfloor. Subfloor is new, but a few high edges here and they will have to be sanded.

I'm new to flooring (not other stuff), and I've been told square edge is easy to install and can just be face nailed with an airgun, which I have. Will simple face nailing hold down a square edge floor, or do I need screws or cut nails?

Another alternative would be to switch to tongue and groove flooring and pay more and then buy a floor nailer?

My last question (sorry so many) is whether nailing a square edge in with a nail gun will look terrible. I know you will be able to see the nail holes, but those airgun nails aren't terribly big, and I am not sure they would bother me.

Thanks so much.

If you do it that way what type screws do you use and what is the spacing of the screws along the board?

Just a good 1 1/2 long wood screw should do [ 5/16 head ? ] . Spacing? I would go 3/4 or 1" from the side and ends and continue on 16" center. Try to find the floor joist pattern and screw to it

How can that be when nofma tells you to attach to joists?

If you're talking about this on page 5-