Pile direction on stairs

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

highup

Will work for food
Supporting Member
Pro
I is confuzzzed. Carpet pile runs up the stairs??? :eek::eek::eek:
I have never done that before............ but today, I eat my words. I cut the two upstairs bedrooms so the carpet pile will end up running............ "up the stairs" as Beaulieu recommends.

My teachings and my logic says this is way wrong. Gimme some "logic" Why run the pile direction up the stairs?

From Beaulieu:
Carpet direction on stair installations should be positioned so
that the pile (nap) direction runs up the stairs.
The only exception here would be
where pattern match requirements must be considered in order to be consistent with
on the floor and landing. Carpets with small patterns may allow the installer to
circumvent pattern match requirements.

In a sense I think the insurance companies are responsible for that. They say in makes the stairway slippery when the pile go down the steps. There are a lot of stairway accidents per year. We heard that probably about 10-15 years ago when I was doing trainings. But really there is no set standard, it can go any which way, even sideways to match the direction of patterns on the floor.
The old "down the stairs out the door" was a saying that goes way back for when there weren't any vacuums. They used whisk brooms to sweep the steps. If the nap direction went up the steps it just threw the dirt back into the gully.

Daris