Replace With Wood or Tile?

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greyhoundmama

Hi Forum, Newbie here. 18 years with carpeting and it has to go. I have 12' ceramic tile in kitchen, baths, halls and walk paths. I'm looking at 4 mm. protected engineered wood or large ceramic tiles for replacement throughout. Our Florida home is on a concrete slab. I'm attracted to the wood but we have 4 beloved, wonderful, clean, smart Retired Racing Greyhounds. They do not run in house, have short nails but they do splash drinking water... From experience out there, what should we do? Help much appreciated! :)

Normally I tend to agree with they guys but on this one im going to stray. I have a dog, two cats, and two messy little girls. I just installed an Armstrong engineered hardwood throughout my house (except the bathrooms) and I have no issues with the sloppy dog's water bowl or the sloppy kids wet feet running in and out of the shower. As long as you don't leave it sit, youll be fine. I keep an eye out and don't have any issues. Don't settle, get the floor you like. If you have to be more careful with spills then so be it. I would rather have a little extra work for the floor I love then settle for something else simply because its easier.

I say wood, and maybe distressed for ease of touch ups and traction. They make nice large mats to go on the floor to protect the wood.