Stain looking strange. Is this normal?!

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RenoRookie

I’ve recently purchased my first home and am having the hardwood floors sanded, stained a darker colour and sealed with solvent based poly. The contractor seems super competent and spent multiple days sanding. I then chose a stain and they went to work. Today I just popped in to have a look, and it looks so strange and uneven. There is a very pronounced rainbow sheen in places, other places look very grey in person. It looks much worse in person, the photos don’t do the unevenness justice. I’m just wondering if this is normal for the first coat of stain or something? Will it improve with another coat or two? I don’t want to be a pest and bring it up with them if it isn’t a problem, but it’s hard not to worry about it!! I have no pervious experience with hardwood flooring, grateful for any advice!
0F3C4FF2-9A0E-4210-BFA5-A43EE8F32109.jpeg
8771EB73-5EFC-4048-9BB8-F44BA8421A5B.jpeg
EF290E36-EB40-42B1-A188-363567CC6326.jpeg
C6F1C826-4726-4CC2-970A-DFF2E57F45A0.png

How was the floor sanded? Doesn't look like a drum sander was used...... I'm guessing.
I wouldn't know about that sheen. I'd certainly ask about it. I see that in acrylic mortar additives, but those aren't used as wood floor sealers.
I'd does seem strange.
I notice a picture frame effect around all the board edges. I've never seen a freshly sanded floor look like that. Planks vary in shade, but not the edges.
That said, I like that look. It's got a neat antiquish or aged look.

Last edited:
I'm venturing a guess that the boards with the white edges were cupped and when sanding they just took off the high edges. Kind of shows that in the pattern how it feathered off the finish. I really don't think they got all the finish off but I'm not a wood guy.