Stumped over door threshold

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brlymeguy

Hi all. I just had a door installed and will be putting a laminate floor down soon, but I’m stumped over this threshold. I am by no means an expert on flooring, but I have put down a handful over the years without any major trouble. I know the gap of the flooring should be hidden by the threshold, but with this one, the thin piece on the interior side goes all the way to the floor. I can’t figure out what to do. Is it the wrong type of threshold? Can I do something to make it work? I’ve wondered if I could just cut the strip so that the floor barely sits underneath. I also thought about trying to replace that one strip with something else. Maybe there’s just a better threshold altogether. The flooring and underlay will be 15 mm thick. I’m just stumped. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• E2780C67-9C66-4605-A4B6-22C3DAF87C58.jpeg
    E2780C67-9C66-4605-A4B6-22C3DAF87C58.jpeg
    186.7 KB · Views: 115
  • DEB1B1AB-8BD3-424D-B94A-BB62973D86EE.jpeg
    DEB1B1AB-8BD3-424D-B94A-BB62973D86EE.jpeg
    117.1 KB · Views: 105
Make your own transition piece. Go get a piece of screen molding and stain it to match. Or modify a matching transition to achieve the same purpose and look. Attach it with silicone and 23 ga pin nails. When you’re done pull up a chair and have a beer while admiring your own awesomeness.

Make your own transition piece. Go get a piece of screen molding and stain it to match. Or modify a matching transition to achieve the same purpose and look. Attach it with silicone and 23 ga pin nails. When you’re done pull up a chair and have a beer while admiring your own awesomeness.