Subfloor strengthen/new flooring?

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wookiejack

This is my first time posting here and was wondering if I was on the right track with my flooring project.
I live in Southern California and just bought a 1,200 square foot house that was built in 1954. The house has a raised foundation with diagonal plank sub flooring that sits on 2X8 joists that are spaced 16 inches on center.
The plan is to lay 3/4 inch OSB over the sub flooring to help level/strengthen the flooring before I install luxury vinyl planks over it. I'm planning on staggering the boards with 1/8 inch pace between them and screwing them down every 6 inches using 3 inch deck screws. The issue is, I keep getting conflicting information on wether or not to use tongue and groove sheets and wether or not to also use glue. Any pros and cons between using nails, ring shank nails, or screws?
If anyone was any insight on this or know any good sites with information or possible videos, could you please let me know?
Thanks in advance

I always use tongue and groove. Don't glue it and don't nail into the joists. With any type of vinyl going down, I don't use screws as it can make the OSB or plywood pucker. If you had 1/4" underlayment grade plywood over the OSB, then you could screw the OSB and staple the underlayment with 1/4" crown 9/16" staples.

image.jpg

Are you doing the entire home?
OSB isn't really designed to install vinyl products over. The strands in the OSB are not glued in with adhesive in mind. The wet adhesive might cause some of the strands to swell, delaminate or pucker. What is the current underlayment? I assume it has a layer of something over those diagonal planks? ...like T&G hardwood or plywood?