What to do with this subfloor?

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This is my first time doing any flooring, we're trying to pull out the old carpet and install floating laminate ourselves. We've pulled up the carpet and I see some spots where the plywood isn't quite lined up. Does it need to just be nailed down better where it's lifting on these edges, or do I need to replace the plywood? Obviously plywood is very expensive right now and I would really prefer not to have to replace it.
PXL_20210619_001127512.jpg

Attachments

• PXL_20210619_001035622.jpg
    PXL_20210619_001035622.jpg
    342.8 KB · Views: 102
That my friend is not plywood, it is the devil incarnate. Puff board is terrible, remove a small piece someplace or look at a heater vent and see what your subfloor actually looks like. Likely it is osb or ply, the jump for joy and remove all the puff board.

That or secure it all and go over it

Poor particleboard gets no respect. So “Ply”wood is layers of wood, I guess they peel a tree trunk like a carrot and glue the layers together. 3 ply, 3 layers, 5 ply 5. OSB are larger particles also glued/pressure. My major dislike is the adhesive they used, it’s not moisture resistant. Nowadays there’s great OSB, Advantech is one type.

floating floors want flat, non moving substrates. They may disconnect or make different sounds if not uniformly flat and in direct contact with substrate.

Its strange to see that stuff in a home, it it does happen. Maybe they were shooting for sound deadening....maybe.

Let us know what you find under a section for sure :)