Where to start

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnmcg4

Hello all
While I am not a professional contractor, I do like to DIY.
I’m going to start to lay 1/2” x 7” engineered flooring on the upper level of my home soon. I will be stapling it to the subfloor. I will be starting in the hallway, then moving into the bedrooms . My question is, is it best to start at the stair nose or in the middle of the floor or closer to the wall? The wood is tongue and groove.

Thank you in advance
John M

Thanks for your reply
Not sure of what my photos should be of.
When starting fresh and having the top of a step involved.
Is it better to start there or it doesn’t matter

The room shape, the direction that the planks are laid, and their orientation to the hallway need to be considered. A drawing helps to see what you are doing.
If the stairnose is grooved, it might be necessary to either insert the tongue of a plank into that nose. .....or fit the groove in a plank against the groove in the nose.
That said, and starting in the hallway is the top stair edge flawlessly parallel to the walls in the rooms you will be going into?
If you start at the stairnose, will you end up with the last row of planks in the bedrooms being only 3/4" wide? ...or having to put a 1/2 inch wide strip Ina bathroom doorway?
You need to pull a string from the far end of a bedroom, through the hall, then to the far end of the other bedroom. The string has to be parallel with the walls.
(This is why a drawing helps. I have no idea how the bedrooms relate to the hall, so I'm guessing)