Wood accepting stain differently in lines

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nix flooring

Hi guys, I’ve been installing and sanding flooring for 12 years now. 5 of which has been through my own company. Every once and while I come across streaking and lines where the stain does not take the same.

Here is the sanding process I use
- 60 grit Big machine and edge to remove old stain and level
- puddy whole floor to fill cracks and seams
- 80 grit big machine and edge off puddy
- scrape and sand corners
- 100 grit buff entire floor with 6 disc sander.
- apply stain with buffer using a slice of carpet.

To me it looks as if it could be lines from the 6 disc sander and some look as start lines from the big machine. The floor is very level tho. Any suggestions and help is greatly appreciated!
1601869748000.jpeg

1601869773957.jpeg

1601869804985.jpeg

1601869839971.jpeg

I not a sand and finish person but like to build a stain furniture. Looking at the lines looks like it goe across more than one board not the length of the board. I'd say just guessing those are areas that got missed when sanding with the finer grit leaving the board just a bit rougher and accepting the stain more. Just guessing here.

I've never seen anything like that.
I was asking because I wanted to envision how a sander could cause the issue that you have.
Is that from a left to right motion causing an overlap?
Supposing you move the sander/buffer to the right, then move it back a foot and do a return pass going left.
Where those two passes overlap, the sanding direction would be reversed...... Clockwise motion overlapping counterclockwise motion.