Self-levelling compound after UFH install

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mrmikemaynard

Hi,

I'm having UFH gypsum overlay boards installed on an (insulated) concrete subfloor. UFH specaliststs have recommended using a self levelling compound before enginered wood floor is laid on top. They won't do the self levelling and carpenter won't do it, so I'm trying to figure out:

a) what type of self levelling compound would be comptabile with the gypsum boards, could I use latex based one

b) whether I could do it myself (I'm a very green DIY novice!)

Would very much welcome advice on either question.

Best wishes, Mike

You’re specific floor that you’re going to be having installed will have some sort of spec regarding installation over radiant heated floors (Under Floor Heating). Often times a certain minimum thickness of self leveler will be required. 1/2”? 3/4”?

I would not recommend laying a SLC on the overlay boards. I think there would be too much movement in the system to really get a proper bond.
If you are planning on installing the engineered wood as a floating installation then just do that and make sure you keep the water temperature low enough to not exceed the manufacturers recommended temperatures. Alternatively you could lay a 1/4 inch Ulay over it and install it as a glue down. That would work as well. You would have to map your piping diagram so as not to puncture the piping during the installation of the plywood.

If in fact you are doing what I think you are doing, that would be my best advice.