Opinions on layout

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

etarasoff

Hi All,

Posting this here to get an "impartial" jury opinion on a laminate install I just had done. The problem is that the racking here ended up with a repeating staircase/diagonal pattern throughout most of the job. The picture attached is an example of what I'm talking about.

I grew up around flooring and my parents owned a flooring store, so I believe I have some knowledge around this area and feel this just ain't right.

Agree or disagree?

http://www.flickr.com/x/t/0094009/photos/41995548@N05/9167428069/

That's what happens when you follow the instructions. Only a few will alert you to stair stepping in the installation instructions. This person should have broken up the pattern. Prolly a carpet installer wannabe laminate/hardwood guy.

Thats horrible and the installer should be ashamed of him/herself. I alway try and skip every four or five rows before a repeat location on a short seam.

etarasoff said:
... feel this just ain't right.

Yeah, repetitive patterns should be avoided. Most experienced clic installers are aware of this. But check the install instructions to determine whether it's right or wrong.

The "instructions" are very good guidelines however common sense should prevail. Stair stepping is lazy and ugly regardless of what the instructions say.

The "instructions" are very good guidelines however common sense should prevail. Stair stepping is lazy and ugly regardless of what the instructions say.

There's no accounting for taste...

wood-floor-end-joints-lined-up.JPG

Yup, many just tell you about end joint spacing, and Mavens picture shows end joint spacing that has acceptable industy end joint spacing.

Ernesto said: