whos responsible

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bwill121984

my brother had ceramic laid at his house over the weekend. when the installers were done. we looked over the job and noticed there was a hump going across the floor. the installers and the store they worked for said that they were not responsible for the high joist. but they said if my bro bought new tile and sub floor that they would do the labor for no charge. I cant find anything about any laws about this so I came here for answers. any help would be appreciated

This is tough. Its hard to say what side I would take. On one hand as a consumer I want something to look great after I pay for it and it's not my responsibilty to forsee obstacles that an installer should know how to deal with. On the other hand as an installer I cant rebuild your house and quite honestly if I did the initial estimate I would have pointed it out to you so you could have a qualified contractor trim down that joist if that is whats required to flatten the floor. I would also think there would be other ways to flatten the floor but its difficult to say without seeing it in person.

bwill121984 said:
I cant find anything about any laws about this so I came here for answers. any help would be appreciated

Where are you located? When an installer installs a finished floor covering he accepts the subfloor as adequate. That means it is clean, smooth and flat enough to produce a finished product that meets manufacturer's and industry standards, not to mention state and local jurisdiction workmanship standards. Replacement costs would be on them but the cost of additional prep would be your responsibility.