Yard Work

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeAntonetti

In an ad I called a contractor that does grading, yada yada, I assumed my yard was flat but after tree removal with a track loader it’s very rough. So he came out looked it over and prior to locating topsoil the labor to dump qty10 18yd truckloads boxblading it, labor would be @ 6k $, for 4 acres, wow, another DIY project I guess. He hasn’t called back from locating topsoil, a rarity around here.

Attachments

• 1BC1CB1C-292D-441E-9EE1-83D5FB5E5BC2.jpeg
    1BC1CB1C-292D-441E-9EE1-83D5FB5E5BC2.jpeg
    290.1 KB · Views: 28
I’m not that good with a box blade, definitely not efficient. Been thinking through various methods. I filled in big gullies and some holes that when hit with mower severe jarring of my back would occur. Can’t be healthy for the body with the violent jolting. Watched some YouTube videos of smaller areas.

the pro said he saw a lot of topsoil nearby he was going to check on, I said I don’t want it to be toxic from dredging a lake or something. A local stone yard said 25$ a yard plus delivery.

so when a customer says their floor looks flat, I can relate cause my yard looked flat.

I had several potholes in my yard that would really bounce the mower and scalp the lawn. I filled them in with dirt, mulch, manure or whatever I have extra of. As the fill compacts and sinks down I would have to eventually top it off. 4 acres may be a bit much to do that with. My driveway needs grading every year and that’s when I rent a tractor with a box blade. Surprisingly easy to figure out and get a feel for.