Tape for Underlayments

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ernesto

Professional
Pro
Had a discussion about this last night with someone and wanted more input.

I rannout of packing tape on my laminate job yesterday by about ten feet so I whipped out some silicone to seal the six mil together with which is always overlapped at least six inches.
The discussion evolved into not whether or not the silicone would seal it but he says 2 mil packing tape is a weak spot since your supposed to use heavier tape and 2 mil is not like.a.six mil.
I say it is all about the bond, much like the flap on rolls of 2&1 underlayment.
I've been using packing tape for five years with six mil no problems here.
What's your take?

IMG_20130726_112734_996.jpg

packing tape is all i use . Fast with the gun . waterproof .
Duct tape is only a retarder .
Never had a problem . First time i used it was afraid it might make noise under the lam .:)

Nick, isin't the red duck tape waterproof? Talk about expensive. Kinda like that foil tape for the foil backed rubberized underlayment, wowzers!

I know Duck brand makes a 3.1 mil packaging tape. It's only like 12 bucks for six rolls. But whats the use if packaging tape is waterproof, if its water proof then it has a lower perm rating than six mill dont it?

Never seen the red in these parts E.
Now they have it in all different colors ,and designs .

If it's not broke , Don't fix it .
Regular duct tape here is like $6.00 a roll, and it's a lot thinner then it use to be . The only thing i use it for is pad seems .

Never couldn't understand why installers insist on stapling the seems , and compressing the pad .

I don't have a problem with packing tape...it's probably better than no tape as it was spec'd years ago.

If I suspect a border line subfloor I will spec a better tape.