Why Not Help DIYers?

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FloorMaven

laminate-floor-end-peaking.jpg

DIYer called me and then emailed me pics of her peaking laminate floor. After numerous back-and-forths trying to help her solve her problem she says:

...at this point, (despite of the relative simple-ness of this job), because of the lack of available time in the near future from my part, (starting a new job), and mostly because I feel I did over extended the physicial capabilities of the strenght of my hands as it is, completing the job mostly all by myself at the first time, (and being a nurse, I do need the full usage of my hands for my job!)...

...and decides to hire me to fix it.

laminate-floor-end-peaking.jpg

DIYer called me and then emailed me pics of her peaking laminate floor. After numerous back-and-forths trying to help her solve her problem she says:

...and decides to hire me to fix it.

Yea yea floormaven, I do those all the time. I guess it's great for the pocket book. But your missing the point.

The point is; If the Box stores and every stupid DIY site on the world stopped making it seem like the skill we have is "simple-ness" after years of learning all the different types of floors out there and what you can get away with and what you can't, that potential DIY'er might have hired you in the first place.

It's a damned shame Box stores and DIY sites make it seem so easy when in fact it is not, but could be for a 10 by 10 room as mostly depicted in a dumbass youtube video, but not an entire house with a hallway.

The one I am going to would have made me a couple grand. I am going into to put bandaids on it because now they can't afford to replace it all. The one I did last week, he had the money to pull it all up and reinstall with a vapor retarder as it should have been done.