Sealing plywood prior to LVT

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Perjorative

We are currently renovating our house room by room and I'm going to be starting on a room that will be used as a home office. Initially it's going to be carpeted with a cheap end-of-roll that is currently sitting in the garage but, when funds allow (probably early next year), we want to get some LVT professionally installed (Karndean or similar)

It's not a particularly large room at 2.5m by 3.5m and, as with all the other rooms we've done, I'll be screwing down any loose/creaky floorboards and then laying 9mm ply over the floorboards, skirting boards will be replaced and be on top of the ply so I'd like to prep the floor in a way that the future LVT installers will be happy with.

I'm a competent woodworker and have no problem in profiling the ply to closely follow the walls/door opening. I've read the Karndean floor prep information and I'm willing to spend the extra on FG1 ply and follow the guidelines by screwing it down at 150mm centres/100mm at edges, avoiding joins that correspond with floorboard edges etc.

When I've put down ply in other rooms that have been carpeted, I've sealed the ply using a 60:40 mix of SBR:water to stop any accidental spillages (or puppy urine) soaking into the ply.

I don't want to cause any problems that would result in the ply needing to be removed & redone in order to lay LVT so wondered if sealing the ply in this way will cause any problems with the adhesives used for LVT?

Thanks

Have you considered just laying the carpet then when ready to lay your new floor put down the ply as you will then have a brand new floor to lay on?